All-Ireland Junior Hurling and Football Sevens

History of All Ireland Sevens - Hurling and Football

In 1989 St Jude's won the Dublin Junior A Hurling Championship - the club's first ever adult hurling trophy and later that year the club sought permission from Croke Park to host a 7-a-side Junior hurling competition of All Ireland proportions.

The historic first Hurling Sevens Tournament was staged at Tymon Park in September 1990, ironically on the eve of the Senior Football All-Ireland. It proved to be a wonderful success with senior inter-county star John Leahy leading his club Mullinahone to victory. They defeated Faythe Harriers in the final, the Wexford men having defeated a highly fancied Sean Treacy led Portumna side from Galway in the semi- final. Leahy claimed the Laoch an Lae Award but other close contenders on the day were Damian Coleman of Portumna and Ian Scallan of Faythe Harriers.

FIRSTSEVENS.jpg Thumbnail1.jpgThe first committee secured sponsorship from E.S.B who continued to support the competition for the next three years. The committee members were Jimmy O'Dwyer, Club P.R.O, Joe Clavin, Hurling Manager, Martin Hayes, Committee Member, Davy Mahon, Hurling Captain, Colum Grogan, Sevens Chairman. Club stalwart Mick Hartnett of Tolmac Construction presented the Corn Naomh Jude Hurling Cup and Club member Liam Larkin of Gouldings Chemicals presented the Laoch an Lae (Player of the Tournament Trophy).

Over the years many famous players have graced the fields of Tymon North in this competition:
Hurling: John Leahy of Mullinahone and Tipperary fame; Sean Tracey, Galway; Nicky English, Tipperary; Brendan Cummins, Tipperary, Damien Quigley, Limerick; Joe Deane, Cork.

Football: Darragh O'Shea and Darragh O'Cinneide of Kerry and our own clubmen Enda Sheehy and Enda Crennan of Dublin and Ciaran McGovern of Leitrim.

The competition was such a success that the following year it was decided to include a Junior Football Sevens and another club member, Don Lehane of Lendac, presented the Corn Peil Naomh Jude to the winners.

In the inaugural Football Sevens year of 1991 the St Jude's Junior Side reached the final where they were beaten by Dublin neighbours, St Olafs. The host club then proceeded to claim the All Ireland title for the next two years and again reached the decider in 1995.

Competition Format

Resize of Stephen Hyland.jpg Thumbnail1.jpgThe 'Sevens' were inaugurated in 1989 and since then they have become a firm and important fixture in the GAA calender. Initially the competition catered for 16 teams in hurling and 16 teams in football. Because the profile has risen considerably in recent years it has grown to 32 teams in football and 24 teams in hurling.

The event is organised and run very professionally by the St Jude's Sevens Committee and takes place in St Jude's grounds in Tymon Park North, Templeogue, on the Saturday of both All Ireland Final weekends.

The criteria for each competition is that county junior champions from the previous year (i.e. 2004 county junior champions will be invited to the 2005 Sevens ) qualify for selection to participate, hence the majority of competing teams will have current intermediate status.

SF takes away.JPG Thumbnail1.jpgIn hurling the competition currently comprises of 20 teams drawn from the four Provinces.
In football, currently 24 teams participate from the four Provinces and Great Britain.

Each participating club can enter a panel of ten players (of non-senior status) but only seven play at any particular time. Normal GAA hurling and football rules apply.

Each competition commences at 11.00am and the final commences at 6.00pm followed by the presentations and later that night a victory banquet for the cup finalists in the clubhouse. A Shield competition also takes place on the day to facilitate early round losers.

Communication with the selected eligible Clubs commences as early as April when entry forms and competition format is forwarded to them. Each year a formal Press Launch takes place either in the club or sponsors premises to announce details of both competitions.

Many of the clubs that have taken part and have done well in these competitions have gone on to become major championship contenders at senior level in their own counties. Such as Mullinahone (Tipperary), Portumna (Galway), An Gaeltacht (Kerry), Kilbride (Cavan), Na Piarsiagh Limerick etc.

St. Jude's Sevens Committee

  • Chairman -Kevin Hayes 0877744400
  • Secretary -Seamus Massey 0877981927
  • Fergus McNally
  • Sean Breheney
  • Stephen Joyce
  • Padraig McManus
  • Finbarr Casey
  • Ann ORiordan
  • Barry Lawlor
  • Kevin Edge
  • Oisin O'Donnell
  • Stephen Joyce
  • Deirdre Seoighe
  • Sean McLoughlin
  • Ronan Howard
  • Davis OHara
  • David Carroll
  • Sean O'Sullivan
  • Alex Wilson
  • Gareth Evans
  • Joan Molamphy

Local Lotto

Popular Links

Player Profile

Kevin McManamon